TodayI…Reflected on Osama Bin Laden’s death.

Well, today is a big day for American soldiers and I just HAD to post this. Osama Bin Laden is dead and I cannot be more proud of my Veteran!

My husband served in United States Army for 4 years.

He served a 15 month tour in Iraq in 2006-2007.

He was also in the 82nd Airborne and jumped out of planes.

He went right after high school because he felt God was calling him there.

He faced many challenges.

He woke up almost every morning at 5am to do PT (Physical training).

He was stationed in many different states, including Ft. Leonard Wood (Missouri) and Ft. Bragg (North Carolina.)

He went on missions almost every day in Iraq…sometimes couldn’t shower for weeks.

While he was in Tikrit, his patrol humvee almost got hit by a grenade.

The humvee behind him barely made it through.

He watched the entire explosion through the rear view mirror as he was the driver.

It is literally a miracle he came back safely.

He sacrificed a lot and it was not easy.

When he returned home, he was different…in a good way.

He was sharp.

He was quiet, always taking everything in.

He was confident.

He was motivated.

Still to this day, he says “The Army was the best thing that ever happened to me!”

He became a man.

He became a hero.

In August last year, I married him.

He is now my man and my hero.

I am so proud of his accomplishments and for his service.

Eddie, I love you so much. Thank you for being so brave. You are truly an inspiration and I know I don’t tell you that enough. I know you hate it when people put you on a pedestal because of the army, but honestly you deserve it! What you did and accomplished is something not many men would sign up for. I truly do believe that the role you played in the military has led our country here to this victorious day! It is because of you and your sacrifice. Please never forget that.

-Your Proud Wife

11 thoughts on “TodayI…Reflected on Osama Bin Laden’s death.

  1. This is great, Mels. I’m happy you posted this. Your love and pride is beautiful. I’m SO proud of you too, Eddie. Thank you for service, it’s inspiring. Love you both. Xoxo.

    • Thanks Annika! I thought you could appreciate it since you’re his Confirmation sponsor and all. Good job sponsor! 😉 Miss you!

  2. Hi Melinda! I say AMEN to all! Yes, we are so very proud of you Eddie and we love you – you are in our family now! Isn’t it good to follow God’s leading! May He continue all that He planned for you. Love, Auntie Catherine, Uncle Alfonso and Shaniah

    • Haha. You love his middle name! It’s Venancio 🙂 Wow..thanks for all the comments. I wanted to put pictures of us eating hamburgers at your place..except I only had one of you and Ryan’s backs/butts while you were in the kitchen. I don’t think you would’ve liked that one..haha. Yes, let’s go on a picnic this summer! I am sooo down.

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

