TodayI…Reflected on What are the Priorities that Rule Over my Life?

At Mass on Sunday, the priest challenged us to do this reflection activity…so I thought it would be a great idea. He asked 2 vital questions: What are the priorities that rule over your life? Who or what are the “lords” of your life?

Here’s what I did:

1) On a blank sheet of paper, draw a big circle in the middle.

2) On the inside of the circle, write EVERYTHING that takes up the majority of your time (Examples: work, watching TV, facebook, etc.)

3) On the outside of the circle, write about the times you recognize God in your everyday. (Examples: praying, going to church, helping/comforting a friend, etc.)

4) Once you’ve done that, reflect.

Reflect about how much time you spend on things that are unnecessary. Do you spend too much time watching TV, on facebook, playing on your iPhone and not enough time recognizing where God is speaking to you? I know for me…I spend a lot of time surfing the web. It can be very distracting and almost addicting at times. My husband gets mad at me because some days when he leaves work and returns from work, I’m still on my computer.  Also, lately I’ve been forgetting to pray before I eat and before I go to bed, which was always a norm for me. Getting myself to Mass on Sunday is always a challenge. Dang…I need to work on myself!

Here’s mine:

Anyway, I share this with you all with no intention of trying to make you feel bad about yourself. (I hope that’s not what you feel.) I thought this was a good activity to help us reevaluate how we spend our time. I know some things are VERY necessary..like work and such. If someone asked what is most valuable to us, I’m sure the majority of us would quickly name our family, friends, and God. BUT, do the choices we make every day truly reflect what we hold dear?

Happy Wednesday everyone & happy reflecting! (If you do have time to do this activity, take a picture and send it to me! I’d love to see it!)

~Melinda

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

