Reflection Wednesday

Things that impacted me this week:

So, I’ve been hooked on this show as of late:

I don’t know if it’s the title of this show or the content/message behind each episode, but I am hooked! I love the development of the characters so far (I just started Season 1 on Netflix) and I feel like I’m learning a little bit about what it might be like to be a parent. I know, I know…it is just a show, it’s not real life! Trust me, I think about that all the time while I’m watching. Yet, for some reason, I feel as though I’m starting to understand why being a parent is such a COMPLEX job. There’s no book you can read or model to follow for raising a PERFECT child! There just isn’t. It doesn’t exist! Being a parent is hard because, frankly, there is no perfect family that could fit into a mold that society accepts as “normal.” I mean, what is “normal” anyway?

The last episode I watched included a heated argument between a 15-year old daughter and her dad. ( I remember the scene so clearly because I could remember specific moments in my life as a “teen” where I had similar arguments with my own dad.) She wanted to go hang out with her boyfriend (who had parents with a more “lax” style of parenting), but he forbid her to go because he wasn’t happy with the Victoria Secret bra she was wearing. She exclaimed that he was being ridiculous! So, dramatically she took off her bra and said, “There, since you don’t want me to go because of the bra, I won’t go with a bra at all!” And she stormed out of the house. (By the way, just to clarify, I never did THAT as a teen, but just trying to set the scene for you all.)

Anyway, after the dad picks her back up from the boyfriend’s house, they finally chat about it. All he explained to her was something along the lines as this: “I know it seems inconsistent. I know your mother told you that you could go and I said you could go. Then I changed my mind and I said you couldn’t go because of the bra. I didn’t want you to go because of the bra. It’s because YOU ARE MY DAUGHTER. I know it’s not fair. But, the world is not fair. That’s just the way it is.”

When I heard that, I could hear my dad’s voice perfectly. He used that one on me a couple times. Oh my goodness, what it must be like to have a teenage daughter! I cannot even imagine!

Well, thank you for listening to my thoughts on that one. Nonetheless, it’s a good show. I recommend you all watch it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Another thing that impacted me this week was this video. YOU HAVE TO CHECK THIS OUT! It’s pretty incredible! Thanks Nikki for showing this to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Things that distracted me this week:

Okay, so I don’t recommend Googling or YouTubing (still think its crazy how these words are now part of our everyday vocabulary) this, but for the first time I watched videos of natural childbirth and boy was it INTENSE! I’m not going to post videos of it here, so if you feel that inclined, feel free to search ย it. But, beware, natural childbirth is a beautiful, beautiful thing, but WOW… our bodies are made to do miraculous things! And, I’m not talking about you, gentlemen, I’m talking about women!

That’s all for today.

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

