DIY Friday: How to Reuse an old checkbook box

Okay, so I’m currently trying to send out all these presents in the mail that I’ve been meaning to send to family/friends for years now. I figured I might as well do it while I can. For some reason, I can’t ever seem to remember to buy gift boxes that are mail-friendly, so I end up scrounging my closets looking for boxes I can reuse and just redecorate.

Here’s what you need:

  • An old checkbook box
  • construction paper or cardstock
  • glue
  • scissors
  • washi tape
  • baker’s twine
  • pen
  • gifts to wrap up
  • 1 paper doily

What to do: (pardon my messy desk)

Step 1: Start with an old checkbook box.

Step 2: With construction paper, wrap up one side of the box to cover it. (Use glue sparingly.)

Step 3: Glue a doily to the side of the box. Decorate with washi tape.

Step 4: Write a special message to the recipient. (I made this particular gift for my cousin who just recently landed a dream job. I wanted to congratulate her and let her know how proud I was. She’s making a huge difference in the world working as a counselor for troubled youth. )

Step 5: Wrap up your gift. (My cousin loves Zebra print anything and also loves to bake. I couldn’t help but buy these!)

Step 6: Insert a cute card to match and write your personalized message to them. I bought these cute mini-cards on sale from Target.

Bam! There you have it!

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

