Quote of the Day

I feel like its been awhile since I posted a quote. This one, for sure, hits home for me. So, to be honest, I’ve been semi-depressed lately. I don’t know what it is. I sound crazy just saying that out loud because frankly, I couldn’t even explain to you why it is that I’ve been feeling so down lately. I would like to blame it on the hormones because the only other time I felt sad for an “unexplainable” reason was when I was 8-9 months pregnant. It HAS to be the hormones. Anyway, I realize that I am extremely blessed and there’s so many other worst situations out there, but I JUST cannot help feel this way. I’m not going to lie, I felt super lonely last week probably because the week before was the husband’s finals week and he didn’t have to go to class..so super spoiled. Then, a new semester started and I’m back to having a lot of time to blog. Lol.  I have to say, I love it that Eddie’s going to school and working full time..doing all these things for our family in order for me to stay home. But, sometimes, in my humanness, I do think to myself, “Damn, this motherhood stuff is rough, I want to go back to work!” (Like that’s ANY easier! pssh!) Then, I remember that Eddie and I discussed our desire to have me stay home to raise our daughter and I checked myself. Sorry to come out with this, but I couldn’t hold it in any longer. I actually called my sister last week and had a mental breakdown, that, now when I look back it is..makes me laugh! Sorry sis!

Anyway, back to the quote..happiness is something we are..not in our circumstances. I know, I know..certain circumstances can and do make people happy. Like, for example, last week when my husband and I had the ability to go on a date night to LA County Fair..that was a circumstance that made me happy. BUT, think about it…circumstances don’t make us…we choose how are feelings/emotions are going to make us feel. It IS in ourselves, our OWN decisions to be happy, not elsewhere or caused by some outside source. Yes, they may have a positive effect, but ultimately we choose how it will make us feel. I CHOOSE happiness! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Quote of the Day

  1. Depression hormones are very real! I’ve experienced them on occasion. They make me feel crazy. I try to keep myself busy when this happens, and know that they will pass.

    • Wow, thank you Stephanie. I do feel like I’m going crazy at times. But yes I know it will pass and I know it has to be hormones bc I don’t really have any reasons to be sad or anything. Just knowing other people can relate makes me feel better already. Thanks!

  2. Great quote. And you sound pretty positive for being ‘depressed’… it’s just motherhood. It’s draining. Some days I have so much energy and others I feel like passing out the second I get home from work. Sounds like you’re doing pretty good though… and trust me, your sis didn’t mind the call… my sis gets lots of those too! 🙂

      • Teething didn’t seem too big of a deal for Avery. He was really fussy at times, and we just tried to distract him by playing or eating which usually worked. If he was still pretty fussy we’d give him tylenol and orajel… which seemed to help but his teeth seemed to pop in quickly. One day nothing was there and the next, there was a tooth! How’s it going with you and teething?

      • Wow, what a tough little guy. I’m not going to lie, it has been harder than I imagined it would be. She’s extremely fussy at times and for a couple weeks she went through this wakeful period where she never really slept. Instead of naps being 2-3 hrs, they were like 20 minutes. During the night, she would wake up every 2 hrs and just never fully went back into deep sleep. If I would move away from her, she would wake up and start crying. The orajel seems to work the best out of everything I’ve tried, but her teeth still haven’t come through yet. From what I’m hearing, there’s no real solution just wait until it passes, and ask for help when you start to go crazy.. Which is what I’m really starting to do. 🙂 Have a great day!

      • Awe bummer. It’ll get better. If you have a friend or family member that can take her for a night so you can rest up – do it! I sent Avery for a weekend with his grandparents last weeked. I got 10 hours of sleep two nights in a row and got lots done around the house. Sometimes we just need a break for our sanity!

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

