DIY pinata!

Today I…thought I’d share a fun DIY project since it’s been awhile since I’ve posted one of those on this space. I had a lot of fun with this one and I’m super happy with how it turned out! Back in April, my daughter turned 1 and we celebrated with a fun Sprinkle themed party.

I had to keep my budget as low as possible so I decided to save the $30 on buying a pinata and make my own. The best part about making your own pinata is that you can be so creative with whatever shape you create. I did a simple number “1,”  but I have seen some really creative ones on Pinterest.

coverpage

Here’s how to create it in 5 easy steps:

step1

Cut out all sides of your desired shape out of cardboard scraps. To make sure it is even all around, use 1 side as a template to create the other side.

step2

Ask a kind friend to assist you with the cardboard cutting. Cutting cardboard is tiring! *A good pair of scissors is your best friend!

step3

Use kraft tape (or any tape really) to take up the sides of your pinata. To make a part of the pinata weaker so it can be easily broken, just use one layer of tape. Once you’ve created the shape, don’t forget to leave an opening for candy!

step4

Create fringe for decorating! (To create fringe: fold/layer crepe or tissue paper and cut slits..then unfold)

step5

Starting from the bottom of your pinata, use double-sided tape (or glue) and start adhering to pinata. This was my favorite part!

And there you have it folks…a fun and simple pinata. How fun would it be to make these on a normal day and fill it with confetti?!? Happy Thursday!

One thought on “DIY pinata!

Leave me a Comment! i'd love to hear what you have to say!

